The Book Lovers’ Tag

So, recently, Dean Kealy of WeeBitWordy participated in the book lovers’ tag over on his site, where he discusses and reviews books, comics, graphics novels… basically, things with pages!

He’s one of my recently-acquired contacts, thanks to BloggerConf 2017, so when I read his book lovers’ tag I was very excited to see that he had left the tag wide open for anyone to jump on-board… and jump I did!

In this post I’ll be answering a few simple questions about my reading habits which may or may not prove to be amusing, entertaining, enlightening… if any of the above are achieved I’ll be pleased!

Thanks so much to Dean for bringing this tag to my attention, and if anyone else wants to check out Dean’s rather impressive output, I encourage you to find him on YouTube, Twitter or over at WeeBitWordy.

Now, without further ado, let’s get started!

Do you have a specific place for reading?

I don’t, but mostly I’ll end up reading from bed, either mine or my girlfriend’s.  This is mostly out of convenience more than anything else; it’s easiest to fit in reading before bed or when I wake up.  But really though, I’m happy to read anywhere that I won’t be disturbed.  The only difficulty arises on public transport (or really any vehicular transport) because if I read for too long I tend to suffer from pretty bad motion sickness.  Not a good look.

Bookmarks or random pieces of paper?

I have lots of bookmarks which I really should utilise a bit better… or at all.  They mostly just hang around my room looking pretty, and when it comes time to mark my place in a book I’ll just reach for whatever flat object is nearest.

At the moment I’m using my wristband and souvenir photograph from the two BloggerConfs that I’ve attended in 2016 and 2017.  In the past I’ve also used hair clips to mark my place so that I can be very specific and even angle it so that I’ve marked the exact line I want to return to.

Bookmarks

Can you just stop anywhere or must it be at the end of a chapter?

Mostly I try to stop at the end of a chapter (or any natural break is fine) but the reality is that doesn’t always happen.  I tend to read during whatever scrap of time I can find; on breaks in college, when my friend makes a bathroom trip, when I’ve arrived early somewhere… I don’t tend to fit in full chapters in those few stray minutes.  But if I’m reading into the night or have unlimited time, I’d never just stop randomly.  It would have to be a point that made sense.

Do you eat or drink while reading?

Generally no, because I worry about mucking up the book, particularly if it’s a book that I’ve borrowed from someone.  I prefer to watch YouTube videos on my phone while I’m snacking so that my hands are free to deal with the grub.  The only exception is that sometimes, when I’m being very luxurious, I’ll have some tea to accompany my reading time.  Pure bliss.

Music or TV while reading?

Are you cray?!  No.  No to both.  Heck no.  No.

I mean – why?

I guess I might sometime consider using the Noisli app (which I’ve mentioned before in a previous blog) as some background noise to create a certain kind of atmosphere that might be fitting for the story, but so far I just read to the sounds of solitude.

One book at a time or several?

When I was a kid who had just discovered libraries (and Jacqueline Wilson) I used to read multiple books at a time.  I used to borrow the maximum amount of books I was allowed to take and they’d sit on my desk in school everyday as I worked my way through them in twos and threes.

Now, I’m much more conservative with my book-reading; I’m more of a one-book-at-a-time kinda gal.  Sometimes I’ll have a physical book and an e-book going at the same time, but that’s mostly a convenience thing.  Can’t lug a 700-page book with me everywhere, I’m afraid.

Do you prefer to read at home or elsewhere?

Anywhere will do, but I guess being at home is nicer because there’s less time pressure to get up and get moving; you can sit and read for hours if scheduling allows for it.  Being in public has quite a few more restrictions, sadly.

HP-books

Read out loudly or silently?

With books, silently.  Always silently.

With texts, shopping lists, memo notes, letters and just about anything else, I tend to read them aloud and, somehow, in fast-forward mode(?).

Do you read ahead or skip pages?

Now, I’m wise enough to avoid any skipping or glancing ahead; I no longer self-sabotage in that particular way.  When I was younger, though, I was totally fine to skip to the last page or last line, just to ensure that I wasn’t going to wind up with a cliffhanger or a disappointing ending.

Cliffhangers upset me because I worry that the author won’t write the next book and I’ll be left in limbo.  Similarly, I don’t really like to start watching TV shows until they’ve already finished the final season.  I want to make sure I’m not left waiting around for something that might never be complete.  (Very grateful right now that I never started watching Sense 8.)

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

I don’t get the big deal about breaking the spine.  I never even knew it was a thing until my friend freaked out when I was handling his favourite book.

Just get hardbacks if you’re going to be so precious about it!  (…she said silently to herself in her head.)

In short, I’m fine with a broken spine; I think it signals a well-loved book, but I will try to be careful with the spines of books that I’ve borrowed, or at the very least I’ll consult with the lender to see how delicately I have to treat the book.

Notes

Do you write in your books?

Again, I am not offended by notes in a book.  I enjoy taking notes and highlighting quotes and scribbling as I read.

I know that’s a controversial thing to say in the book-lovers’ community, but I don’t think of books as a precious treasure the way a lot of people do.  I think the intellectual property is the precious element; the words, the story, imprinted in my brain upon reading, not the physical pages.

In the words of Stephen King, “The book is not the important part; the book is the delivery system.  The important part is the story and the talent.”

Stephen

So, that’s it for me.  Book lovers’ tag: COMPLETE.

Like Dean, I’m going to leave this one open-ended and say that anyone who’s interested should get involved with this tag, but I’m going to give a special little *nudge* in the direction of Shameless Sparkles.  No pressure or anything, but, y’know… 😉

Heart

 

One thought on “The Book Lovers’ Tag

Leave a Reply

