Learning to live with Wednesdays

wednesdays

So today is Wednesday, and Wednesdays, as I may have previously mentioned, are awful.  Which is a very ignorant thing for me to say, as my Wednesdays are far superior to a lot of people’s Wednesdays, but nevertheless.  I have classes from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. with no official breaks, and I am sad about it.  End of story.

So the solution is this: I have to start prepping myself to make the most of Wednesdays.  Rules must be made; measures must be put in place.

So, Rule #1: no college work on Wednesday evenings.  

If I have something due in on Thursday, I had better make it my business to get it done the weekend in advance because NOTHING productive is happening from the minute I step out of that Enterprise Development class until 9 a.m. the following day.

Rule #2: no blogging on Wednesdays.

(I’m breaking this rule today, but next week is as a good a time as any to get started.)  There simply isn’t time in the evenings*.  If I want to maintain my daily blogging schedule, I’ll have to start doubling up content on Tuesdays or else just accept that occasionally I’ll only manage to write 6 blogs in the week.  I think that’s pretty reasonable, to be honest.

Rule #3: have something nice waiting for me at home.

Having something to look forward to will make a stressful day much more bearable.  Tonight, that something nice is my girlfriend, maximum cuddles and an episode of Westworld**.  Possibly some Marian Keyes*** reading as well, if I’m feeling luxurious.

I’ve decided to work with my Wednesdays instead of against them.

We’ve all got a day in the week that’s just extra hard to manage.  For some people like me it’s Wednesday, for some people it’s Monday and for some people maybe it’s even Saturday, but life is too short to devote one seventh of your week to feeling miserable and grumpy.

Instead, do your best to make it work.

blue-heart

*I know that 9-6 doesn’t sound terribly time-consuming, and a lot of people do this every day for work.  I appreciate that.  But in my case, I just don’t know how to juggle my time well enough to leave college at 6 p.m., cycle home, have dinner, get showered, prepare Thursday’s lunch, pack bags for the night and the next day, cycle over to Catherine’s, and also have time to chill out and relax before bed, never mind fitting in a blog!  When we live together things will surely become simpler, but for now most of my evenings are devoted to just ticking these boxes.

**Highly recommend, although maybe not so much for the squeamish folks, such as myself.  I find the violence quite hard to stomach but in this case I think it’s worth it for the plot.  Check out the trailer here if you’re thinking of giving it a go.

***I’ve finished reading Rachel’s Holiday and it was the PERFECT read to get me excited for my current project and I can’t wait to read more of Marian Keyes’ work.  I’m making a start on The Brightest Star in the Sky now, and between readings I’ve been keeping entertained with Marian’s vlogs!  They’re phenomenally funny so I highly recommend them for some light entertainment.

Leave a Reply

