Wednesday is the new Monday

wednesday

I am TIRED.

And a tad overwhelmed.

My head is pounding but I still have to shower, blog, fashion some sort of dinner out of the bits and pieces that we have in the house, submit an assignment, cycle to Cat’s and pick up lunch for tomorrow.

Wednesdays are hard and they’re about to get harder. Currently, ten to five; no scheduled breaks.  Next week and every week to follow, nine to six; no scheduled breaks.  And the cherry on top; that middle class is taught by a woman who terrifies me, -whose teaching tactics do not suit me- who also happens to be my thesis supervisor.  And she’s not very happy with my proposal.  I feel an impending sense of doom.

BUT.  It must be said.

Today in her lecture I did some minimal, but voluntary, public speaking.

I wasn’t good at it by any means, and someone had to cover me at the end, but I still did it.  And nothing terrible happened.  No one terminated their friendship with me.  No one exiled me from the class.  The earth didn’t open up and swallow me whole.  Just the headache, but maybe I can rid myself of that with some de-stressing time, if such a thing exists in my immediate future, of which I am highly doubtful.

As for food.

So far, so good.  What I ate wasn’t exactly nutritious, but also wasn’t excessive.  Once I cut down on the quantity of food I consume maybe I can start replacing my carby stables with healthy alternatives.  Or maybe that should be the other way around, should it?  Start by eating lots of healthy food and then cut down from there?  Yeah, that seems much more sensible.  And I’d better start re-watching some Netflix documentaries* for motivation!  Michelle** and I have Zumba tomorrow though, so that’s another step in the right direction.

It’s all just baby steps for now.  I’ll let you know when I’ve graduated to grown-up steps.

blue-heart

*I have a couple go-to documentaries for whenever I feel myself losing control of my diet.  I highly recommend ‘Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead‘, ‘Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead 2 andFed Up‘.   Even if you don’t want to adopt the methods used in these documentaries they’re still brilliant for motivation.  The ‘Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead’ films really make fruit and veg seem highly appealing, and ‘Fed Up’ warns of the dangers of consuming too much sugar.  They help me get back on the right track every time.

**One of my very best friends in the whole world.  She and I did a collab a while back; I reviewed some products for her lifestyle/beauty blog, Shameless Sparkles, and she told me all about the role makeup has played in her life.  As well as being my best friend and a fellow blogger, she’s also recently become my gym buddy.  Yay for friendship!

One thought on “Wednesday is the new Monday

  1. Pingback: Priorities

Leave a Reply

