Let the weekend commence!

hearts-and-writing

Today was a good day!

Largely because there were only four of us in class and largely also, I’d imagine, because I got to talk about Catherine for a lot of it!  Usually I feel obnoxious and annoying when I go on and on about my partner, but today people asked me about her!  So I cannot be blamed.

I got to discuss our Valentine’s Day plans with Emma* (thus far, nada, but I do have a present in the works) and I got to tell Martin* all about her success as an animator.  I even got to show him her short film and give him her business card**.  It’s hard to shut up about her once that door has been foolishly opened by some poor unsuspecting soul, but luckily I don’t think I overstepped today.

And now my weekend has officially begun!  So it’s time to get back to writing.

So far so good with the blog (good job, Self!  Pat on the back!) but now I need to put more emphasis on the novel***.

The character profile for Mr Protagonist is still going regretfully slowly, so it might be time to move on to the journalist’s profile.  I think I understand her a little bit better, so hopefully that will speed up the process.  She is basically me, after all.  Except much more adventurous and probably prettier; I haven’t decided yet.  And yet, somehow, I still don’t think she’ll be an idealised version of myself.  I intend for her to be terribly annoying for Mr Protagonist.

As for him, well, I’m hoping the time away from each other will do us both some good.  Absence makes the heart grow fonder and all that, so maybe we’ll see eye to eye more clearly once I return to him.blue-heart

*Some of my college buds.  They make up two of the four who actually turned up to class today.  I am one of the other two.

**Cat’s card!  In case anyone is looking for an animator  (…not to keep.  Just temporarily, for her animating services).

cats-card

***Blue.  This is a novel that I’ve had in the works for a long time now, but so far it hasn’t amounted to much because I haven’t felt very in control of my time and, by extension, my writing.  But now, after watching one particularly motivational vid on YouTube, I’ve decided to ‘carve out’ the time, so I’ve been working on it consistently for the last few weeks and I’m hoping to have 25,000 words finished by the end of the academic year.  The main theme that I’ll be focusing on is mental health awareness and it will be the first novel in which I attempt to capture the voice of a male protagonist.  Scary.

Leave a Reply

