Beyond Twitter and Facebook

social-media-for-web

I’ve been wondering for a while now if I’ve got the personality for what I want to do in life.  To be a writer it doesn’t seem like you’d need to have much personality outside of your writing, but I’ve learned that –sadly– this is not the case.

To be a writer, you have to sell yourself and market your book.

To market your book, you have to have an audience.

To have an audience you have to be on social media.

And while I am technically ‘on’ social media (she said as though it was a drug), I’m definitely not the most active gal on the web.

I try to be good at it, I really do!  I read all sorts of blogs for tips on reaching a wider audience/gaining and maintaining followers.  But for the life of me I still can’t fathom Facebook!

I’m a fan of Twitter but my audience is still small and in order to be a successful writer, I know I’ll have to go beyond Twitter and Facebook.  Sure, I’ve got the blog, but YouTube is the big one, and I’m not sure I’ve got the personality for it.  I’m a shy one.

I think it would take a while to crack YouTube, but my wildly optimistic hope is that just being myself would be enough (????!).

Somehow I doubt it.  My real-life likeability may not translate as well in YouTube videos.  I’m no Mel from Bake Off.

Leave a Reply

